Farewell to 2011 and Looking Forward


This past year has been rather extraordinary, to put it mildly.  For most of us it has been a nearly constant struggle to just stay even or try not to fall too far behind.  I would be in that group.  I know there are some who still scratch their heads and say “What Recession”, but they are the minority for sure.

I opened a new Detail Shop back in April of this past year and while I knew the economy was down, I reasonable expected it to start turning around by late summer.  That was the overall prediction of the so-called economic genius’.  It wasn’t untill around May or June that most revised their outlooks.  Too late for me to back out.  Having sunk everything into my shop, it was only the option of scraping along that was available.  The good news is that I am still going.  Bad news is the economy is going to wait untill the end of 2012 to make its decision on better or worse…. or so those genius’ now predict.

 Currently sitting in my shop are a couple of vehicles waiting to be picked up.  A 1977 Pontiac Trans Am.  These are fondly called the “Bandit” model from the Burt Reynolds movies.  My kids think they are very cool and I would agree.  My attitude is these are great cars to actually drive and enjoy.  This particular one has its original 400 CID engine and automatic transmission.  Dollar for dollar, these are better than the Corvette from 1977.  My opinion is based on the fact thaT only a 350 small block could be ordered in the Vette, while T/A owners could get actual big block engines.  Add the fact that a family of 4 or even 5 if the kids are small enough, and a weekend cruise is possible.  With the Vette, you need to hook up a trailer to haul any kids along.  Maybe the point of the Vette is to leave them home?

 

The other vehicle sitting in my shop has a rather interesting heritage.  It was on display at the Guiness World Record Museum down in Tennessee until recently.  It was the vehicle driven by John Candy’s character in the movie “Delirious”.

While intended to be a Ferrari GTO, it is actually a Datsun 280Z, with custom bodywork to appear as the famed GTO.  Untill November or this year, the GTO had the Guinness title of being the “Worlds Most Expensive Automobile” as the few out there have been selling for anywhere from $6 Million up to an estimated $20 Million each.  This is just beyond comprehension how anything could be so expensive… much less a car.

The point I am getting to in my usual meandering way is that while business is slow for my shop and the general economy…..there are signs that something could change soon.

So Merry Christmas to everyone, and Happy New Year.

Davey Boy

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

