1965 – The Big Blocks Come Out To Play


 This would be a 1964 Impala SS.  This is the car that the Beach Boys wrote the song “She’s Real Fine, My 409” about.  It has the 409 cubic inch big block motor.  While not a dual carb setup, it was and still is a potent performer and worthy of its own song.  The 1964 Impala has the distinction of being the “Best Selling” car model ever made as it sold 1,074,925 copies in 1964 alone.  This feat is even more amazing when you consider that they totally redesigned the Impala in 1965 and that car holds the number 2 spot at 1,046,500 copies.

 This was one of the facts behind the Chevrolet Division at General Motors being slow to respond to the introduction of the GTO model over at Pontiac.

The GTO in 1964 caused a stir in the automotive community and the car manufacturer’s scrambled to come up with their own performance models.  But Chevrolet, through its own arrogance as the #1 division at General Motors felt their Impala with its Super Sport model had already established the Muscle image they needed.  And better yet they did it with the heavyweight class, not the welterweight division.  After all, why would the car buying public want to drive a “Prince” when they could have the “King”?  And as a company, why would they want to earn a couple hundred dollars when they could earn double on a “full-size” vehicle.  Chevrolet had the Corvette model which was a true sports car, and they had the Corvair which was designed to compete against the European sports cars.  With the full size Impala carrying the Performance torch for the division with the American family, why would they need to claim the title for the junior league as well?

 The 1965 Chevelle Malibu SS 327 had the engine from the standard model Corvette although slightly detuned it was the venerable 327 from it’s “sports” car.  Oldsmobile responded to the 389 powered GTO in 1965 by upping the ante with its 345 horsepower 400 cubic inch power plant being installed in the 442.

 The 442 model now stood for 400 cubic inches, four barrel carb, and dual exhaust.  Despite in my opinion a rather stodgy design it was a good performer and put the Oldsmobile division on par with Pontiac in the new Muscle Car marketplace. 

  In 1965 Buick finally came into the marketplace with its Buick Skylark Gran Sport.  This was the version of the Special model with the Buick “Nailhead” 401 cubic inch motor.  Due to new rules limiting the engine size to 400 CID for midsize vehicles, Buick simply listed the engine as a 400 on its literature. 

  For the sake of clarity the GS as these cars would come to be known did not stand for Grand Sport, it was Gran Sport.  Buick made GS or Gran Sport versions of almost all its models, partly because the management did not want to miss the boat for the next wave of performance buyers.  They had a Riviera GS as well as the Wildcat GS which moved them into the 425 CID “Wildcat” engines since they were larger vehicles and the displacement restrictions did not apply.

With Pontiac laying claim to being the “Original” muscle car and both Oldsmobile and Buick now pushing big block engines and their massive power, it was finally time for Chevrolet to either throw in the towel or answer the bell.

 So answer they did.  It was the Chevelle Malibu SS396.  It would go on to become a true legend.  The original 1965 versions were built on the stiffened convertible chassis because of concerns over the engines massive torque compared with the small block engine.  This was a lesson picked up from the Pontiac division since all GTO’s were also built on different frames than the Tempest and LeMans models.  This also meant these cars had their own VIN number and as a result makes them “easier” for collectors to identify as such today.  In the case of the GTO there is also a frame identification to use for verification.

 The 1965 Chevelle Z16 SS, as it was known due to the engine designation, was however limited its first year of production.  A handful of prototypes such as the one pictured here and another 201 were all that was made in 1965.  They are among the rarest and most valuable muscle cars today.  This prototype sold a couple of years back for around $375,000.  Not bad for a car costing around $3500 new.

 This covers the General Motors end of the 1965 model year as pertains to the “Muscle Car” segment, and there are more than just GM vehicles to show you, but the others will have to wait for the next installment.  After all, I need you to keep reading this blog.  So, later all.  Thank-you for stopping by and more in about a week.

Davey Boy

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

56 Responses to “1965 – The Big Blocks Come Out To Play”

  1. IP camera Says:

    the written content on this article is really of the most beneficial substance. I adore your article, I will be back again for new posts.

  2. Hedge Trimmers - Echo GT225 String Trimmer Review Says:

    […] 1965 – The Big Blocks Come Out To Play […]

  3. cheap bags Says:

    Im happy U did it. Thanks for writing so informative post. Im lookin’ forward to c and read ur next post. Cheers

  4. cool new gadgets Says:

    I value your time invested on this content , regrettable it took me this long to find it but like they enunciate a good quality is difficult to find. Keep it up.

  5. Lenard Erchul Says:

    You are a very smart person!

  6. Og Mandino Says:

    This is the proper blog for anyone who desires to search out out about this topic. You understand so much its almost exhausting to argue with you (not that I truly would need…HaHa). You undoubtedly put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, simply nice!

  7. Jo Smith Says:

    I love your website! I’ll make sure to bookmark it and visit you again in the future! great post!

  8. top ipad apps Says:

    Moving and powerful! Youve certainly got a way of reaching people that I havent seen very often. If most people wrote about this subject with the eloquence that you just did, Im sure people would do much more than just read, theyd act. Great stuff here. Please keep it up.

  9. ip camera Says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more, anyway l love your site layout. Is nice and clean.

  10. SEO Ethics Says:

    Great Stuff!!

  11. Learn Golf Says:

    Nice post, always something interesting on here 🙂

  12. Roosevelt Leitch Says:

    Very nice article and straight to the point. I don’t know if this is really the best place to ask but do you folks have any ideea where to hire some professional writers? Thx 🙂

    • americanmusclecar Says:

      just search for blogs involving what your subject matter concerns and try asking whomever it is if they want to freelance for you. You never know in todays economy who may be willing to make a buck.
      Davey Boy

  13. Jamila Sergent Says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post, a great read.

  14. Shane Duhon Says:

    Great site! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also

  15. Kristofer Mcclanahan Says:

    I’m still learning from you, as I’m trying to achieve my goals. I certainly enjoy reading all that is written on your blog.Keep the posts coming. I loved it

  16. xoom Says:

    Hey! That’s a really great post. I’m very sure I’ll counsel it to my co-workers.If you post more posts please e mail them to me.

  17. iphone cases Says:

    Moving and powerful! Youve certainly got a way of reaching people that I havent seen very often. If most people wrote about this subject with the eloquence that you just did, Im sure people would do much more than just read, theyd act. Great stuff here. Please keep it up.

  18. Marcie Linda Says:

    Hey, I have observed that your RSS feed isn’t working duly. Thought I should let you know !

  19. Leslie Piedmont Says:

    I love your wp template, wherever did you download it from? Thank-you in advance!

  20. Kiersten Valeriani Says:

    Hey, I have observed that your RSS feed isn’t working perfectly. Thought I should let you know !

  21. How To Start A Blog Says:

    I am speechless. This is a very good weblog and very enticing too. Nice paintings! That’s no longer actually a lot coming from an amateur publisher like me, but it surely’s all I could say after diving into your posts. Great grammar and vocabulary. Not like different blogs. You actually know what you?re speaking about too. Such a lot that you made me need to explore more. Your weblog has become a stepping stone for me, my friend.

    • americanmusclecar Says:

      Thanks for the encouragement. You are the reason I do this…to spread the Muscle Car to new segments and introduce new people to what they are and what they are all about.
      Davey Boy

  22. win wife back Says:

    Thank you for the great article and all of your ideas. It is really true – you have ignited thoughts from a point of view I hadn’t thought about yet. I hope that I can do somehing with it.

  23. Buy backlinks Says:

    Just got done looking for this topic in the major article directories and was extremely disappointed by the lack of relevant information. Then a friend pointed out your blog to me and I must say I am absolutely blown away by the level of understanding you demonstrated on the subject.

  24. Chickenpox Symptoms and Vaccines Says:

    This is so great that I had to comment. I’m usually just a lurker, taking in knowledge and nodding my head in quiet approval at the good stuff…..this required written props. Theory rocks…thanks.

  25. customized dog tag Says:

    I am speechless. This is a very good blog and very attractive too. Nice paintings! That’s now not in point of fact much coming from an novice publisher like me, however it’s all I could say after diving into your posts. Great grammar and vocabulary. No longer like different blogs. You in point of fact realize what you?re speaking about too. So much that you made me want to discover more. Your weblog has turn out to be a stepping stone for me, my friend.

  26. scottsdale seo Says:

    Mate. This site is sick. How can I make it look this good ?

  27. zamek w łęczycy Says:

    Great! Thanks for post

  28. volume pills review Says:

    I ran into this page mistakenly, surprisingly, this is a wonderful website. The site owner has carried out a superb job of putting it together, the info here is really and helpful when i do research. Now i am going to bookmark this internet site so that I can revisit in the future.

  29. free roulette system Says:

    Great tips! I will try to use them. Be sure to keep writing more great articles like this one.

  30. waterproof mattress Says:

    You should consider starting an email list. It would take your site to its potential.

  31. remote backup Says:

    Thanks for providing such a great article, it was excellent and very informative. It’s my first time that I visit here. I found a lot of informative stuff in your article. Keep it up. Thank you.

  32. wordpress themes Says:

    Good Post!!

  33. wordpress themes Says:

    Great Stuff!!

  34. ip camera Says:

    Cool Article! My spouse and i had been simply debating that there’s a whole lot absolutely wrong with info on this matter and you replaced the belief. Many thanks for a marvelous contribute.

  35. wczasy nad morzem Says:

    Please tell me that youre heading to keep this up! Its so good and so important. I cant wait to read far more from you. I just really feel like you know so very much and know how to make people listen to what you’ve to say. This blog is just as well cool to be missed. Excellent stuff, definitely. Please, PLEASE keep it up!

  36. iphone Says:

    Wow, suprisingly I never knew this. Keep up with good posts.

  37. firepitshelper.com Says:

    I got to say that this is a crazy topic, just look at how many people are commenting on this one. Bye.

  38. levage Says:

    You made various fine points there. I did a search on the topic and found nearly all folks will consent with your blog.

  39. acne Says:

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..extra wait .. …

  40. moebel Says:

    I learned alot by reading your article. I have been reading your blog alot over the past few days and it has earned a place in my bookmarks.

  41. click Says:

    I ran into this page on accident, surprisingly, this is a amazing website. The site owner has carried out a superb job of putting it together, the info here is really and helpful when i do research. Now i am going to bookmark this internet site so that I can revisit in the future.

  42. prezentacja maturalna Says:

    Hey, nice art i added your blog to my rss!

  43. Health Articles Says:

    You should consider starting an monthly news letter. It would take your site to its potential.

  44. solar system for kids Says:

    I learned alot by reading your article. I have been reading your blog alot over the past few days and it has earned a place in my bookmarks.

  45. Pet Rabbit Says:

    Thanks for providing such a great article, it was excellent and very informative. It’s my first time that I visit here. I found a lot of informative stuff in your article. Keep it up. Thank you.

  46. Cheap Rabbit Cages Says:

    Great article, had no problems printing this page either.

  47. Large Rabbit Cages Says:

    Finding this site made all the work I did to find it look like nothing. The reason being that this is such an informative post. I wanted to thank you for this informative analysis of the subject. I definitely savored every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

  48. click Says:

    I ran into this page mistakenly, surprisingly, this is a great website. The site owner has done a great job writing/collecting articles to post, the info here is really and helpful when i do research. You just secured yourself a guarenteed reader.

  49. doctor reviews online Says:

    Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and terrific design and style.

  50. weatherbabes Says:

    I like your website! It was eventually a very great read.. keep up the great work you are really talented! I am going to have to look at some of your other posts.

  51. wifi cracking Says:

    Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    • americanmusclecar Says:

      go for it….my intention is to provide information and the more people exposed to what I know the better. I want to get more people involved with the old cars and the Muscle cars in particular.

  52. hampton bay lighting fixtures Says:

    I like the article so much.And I have had and good idea by reading that.Thx 4 sharing

Leave a Reply

