Volo Car Museum Car Corral on Saturday


Every year the Volo Auto Museum in Volo, Illinois has a bring your ride in and sell it for free deal.  They call it a “Car Corral” and for the price of admission people can come in and not only tour the Museum and see all that it has for sale but see what people in the area also have on the market block.  They actually do this once in the spring and again in the fall.  I believe the fall one is in September, but check their web site to make sure for yourself.

I am an annual member of the Museum so for me to stop in and browse for an hour or two once a month is no big deal to me.  Unlimited visits and I try to get my children to follow in my footsteps a bit as far as having an appreciation for the Muscle Cars.  At the very least they have an awareness. 

 The area where I live in Lake County Illinois is a bit of a hot bed for these cars.  There are no fewer than 4 dealers of quality collectible cars in my vicinity.  I frequent each one of them several times a year.  The largest by far is Volo.  The types of cars you can find will run from 1900’s up to 2000’s.  So whether you are like me and a fan of the 60’s and 70’s iron or if you prefer the 50’s or the 80’s take some time and view their web site.

Some of the people whom I have spoken with thinks that the web sites for these collector car sites takes too much clicking and navigation and my only advice would be that you are not buying a television so it’s better to be thorough in the number of pictures on a website than just a one view click and go.  That being said, they all have their eccentricities and even I prefer one to another.  I am not going into my preferences because I want my eventual website to be “my perfect model”, and not used by someone else.

So the Car Corral goes Saturday and Sunday with Monday being a make up date in case of rain.

They expect 400 cars for the “sale” and judging by the 150 or so I saw on Saturday at 11:00 AM they will probably have that.  Sunday is to be the biggest day.  I will likely go again tomorrow, why not since it only costs my time.

The 1971 Mach I Mustang was for sale in the neighborhood of $20,000 and the Pinto Country Squire wagon was not priced, but should sell for under $10,000.  It was a real beauty if you like these little cars, which I do.  I do not know why, but the Pinto is a really cute car to me and the way it had those low sitting bucket seats for all 4 passengers was cool for its time.  And I know there was nothing fast or performance about the wagons or the Pinto’s in general, but they are still cool and there are not very many around anymore.

And then for around $30,000 there was a 1969 Firebird 400 Convertible.  Nice car in every way and a sweet summer ride for somebody.  It will probably be sold before I get back there tomorrow, but it’s not a car for me anyway.

The prices I am quoting here are my remembrances and I did NOT write down the actual prices so I am giving “Ball Park” ranges.  Don’t sue me if I am off a little…I am 52 years old and am lucky to remember where I live and can find my way back home some days.

I do not remember if the Bronze GTO was a 1970 or a 1971, so whichever it was, it is…but again it was a car for the $30,000 range, if you are interested.

The one thing I noticed when I was roaming through the lot was that there were NO great bargains.  These are cars that are individually owned and since summer is already here you would have to wait till the end of the season to get a real super buy on something.  That is when the car guys start thinking about having to pay 4 or 6 months storage for a car they don’t want or don’t need anymore and will let something go for less than the sentimental value.

Generally speaking the best prices are in the fall-winter seasons and higher prices will be the norm during months when you can take these cars out and enjoy them. 

Another of the vehicles I like that are not Muscle Cars are the Cadillac Allante.  They had 4 there and ranged in price from $12,000 up to mid $20,000.  Thats a lot of sporty convertible style and class for the summer and for not a lot of money.  There was a really sweet White 1992 that was $16,000.  Maybe I should surprise the wife and pick it up tomorrow for her.  In Illinois, car dealers cannot sell a car on Sunday, but an individual can, so……..who knows ?

Maybe it will depend on how I feel in the morning.

Davey Boy

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

